Scientific Advisory Board

Currently Dyadic is advised in scientific matters by:

Richard A. Lerner, MD
Chairman of Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Lerner is a world renowned expert in the field of catalytic antibodies and combinatorial antibody libraries. From 1986 until January 2012, Dr. Lerner served as President of The Scripps Research Institute, the largest private, non-profit research organization in the United States and continues to serve as Institute Professor. Dr. Lerner is the Lita Annenberg Hazen Professor of Immunochemistry, the Cecil H. and Ida M. Green Chair in Chemistry, and a member of The Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology at Scripps Research. He also oversaw the establishment of a sister research campus, called Scripps Florida, in Jupiter, Florida. Dr. Lerner has received numerous prizes and awards including the Wolf Prize in Chemistry in 1994, the California Scientist of the Year Award in 1996, and the Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize in 2003 for his achievements in the development of catalytic antibodies and combinatorial antibody libraries. Dr. Lerner is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Lerner currently serves as a director of Kraft Foods, Inc., Opko Health, Inc., Sequenom, Inc. Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd., and IntraCellular Therapies, a privately held biotechnology company. He previously served as a director of Xencor, a privately held biotechnology company, and on the Siemens’ Advisory Board for Molecular Medicine of Siemens AG. Dr. Lerner attended Northwestern University as an undergraduate, received B.M.S. and M.D. degrees from Stanford University Medical School, interned at Palo Alto Stanford Hospital and did his postdoctoral training at Scripps Clinic and Research Foundation in experimental pathology.

Arnold Demain, Ph.D.

Dr. Demain is a Research Fellow in Microbial Biochemistry at Drew University’s Charles A. Dana Research Institute for Scientists Emeriti (R.I.S.E.). Dr. Demain has been in the forefront of industrial microbiology and biotechnology for over six decades and has been involved in the research and commercialization of a number of fermentation based pharmaceutical processes. Dr. Demain spent 32 years from 1969-2001 at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), where he most recently served as Professor of Industrial Microbiology in the Department of Biology. Prior to MIT, Dr. Demain spent 15 years at Merck & Co., Inc. beginning in 1956 where he founded the Merck Department of Fermentation Microbiology in 1965 and held various positions in R&D and management focused on fermentation microbiology. His leadership in the area of fermentation is evidenced by over 530 publications, 24 books of which he is coeditor or coauthor, 21 U.S. patents and his election to the presidency of the Society for Industrial Microbiology in 1990, membership in the National Academy of Sciences in 1994, the Mexican Academy of Sciences in 1997 and the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in 2001. Dr. Demain received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in bacteriology from Michigan State University in 1949 and 1950, respectively, and his Ph.D. in Microbiology from the University of California in 1954.

Arkady P. Sinitsyn, Ph.D.

Dr. Sinitsyn is the Head of Laboratory in the Department of Enzymology at Moscow State University in Moscow, Russia. Dr. Sinitsyn has worked with Moscow State University since 1974, first as a researcher, then as a senior researcher, and most recently as the head of its Laboratory of Physical Chemistry of Enzymatic Transformation of Polymers. Since 2006, Dr. Sinitsyn has been the head of Laboratory of Enzyme Biotechnology at the Institute of Biochemistry of the Russian Academy of Sciences. His scientific expertise includes enzymology, biochemistry, microbiology, and genetics of carbohydrases (cellulases and xylanases), proteases, lipases, esterases, and other enzymes for application in textiles and detergents, pulp and paper, food and animal feed, and other industrial uses. Dr. Sinitsyn is a member of the Russian National Research Program on the Enzyme Engineering Council. He has co-authored 350 publications in Russian and international scientific journals, as well as more than 30 Russian and three international patents. Dr. Sinitsyn received his Ph.D. in Enzymology and a Doctor of Sciences in Enzymology and Biochemistry from Moscow State University.

Cees van den Hondel, Ph.D.

Dr. van de Hondel has been a professor in Molecular Microbiology and is a specialist in the field of gene technology and biotechnology of filamentous fungi. Dr. van den Hondel is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the spin-off company, HiteXacoat, of the University of Leiden which has developed and applies a smart discovery platform for antifungal mixtures and compounds acting on the fungal cell wall especially for Aspergillus niger, the human pathogens Aspergillus fumigatus, Candida albicans, Candida glabrata, Cryptococcus neoformants, Cryptococcus gattii and several Plant Pathogenic fungi. For 25 years, he was the head of fungal research in the department of Molecular Genetics at TNO Nutrition and Food Research Institute in the Netherlands and thereafter head of the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Biotechnology of the Institute of Biology of the University of Leiden, The Netherlands. He has coordinated several large multinational projects involving fungal research within the European Community programs. Dr. van den Hondel has co-authored over 140 peer-reviewed scientific papers and more than 15 published patents. He became a full professor in 1997 at the University of Leiden. In 2010, Dr. van den Hondel was appointed by her Majesty, the Queen of the Netherlands, as Officer in de Nederlandse Leeuw for his great (inter)national efforts and activities on filamentous fungal research. Dr. van den Hondel obtained his MSc in Biochemistry from Utrecht University in 1971, and his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from Nijmegen University in 1976.